18ish Weeks

Well, I found out that I will not be getting any CF results afterall. After nearly 4 weeks of waiting for answers, I got a call explaining that the genetics people could not get viable results to see if the baby has Cystic Fibrosis or not. Apparently there was maternal cell contamination (which is EXTREMELY rare, happens in 0.5% of CVS tests) and the genetics lab people had never had that happen to them before. I was really upset when I got the news and pretty much had an emotional breakdown at work after I got that call. All I wanted was to know whether or not my little baby boy is going to be sick for the rest of his life or not.

There have definitely been a lot of emotional ups and downs recently, mostly because of the CF stuff and other little life stuff, like work, money, etc. It doesn’t help that pregnancy hormones make it all so much worse. Tyler is really patient and he is definitely my rock through all of this. We decided that we will not be doing another test, the amnio, because I quite frankly do not want to go through the whole uterus-stabbing process again and I really don’t care to know anymore. I mean, I am hoping and praying that my baby is perfectly healthy, but I think I’ll be okay waiting until after he is born to find out whether or not he has CF or not. Until then, I am just going to enjoy the rest of this pregnancy as best as I can.

Oh, I finally have a bit of a baby bump at 18 weeks šŸ™‚

oct 30 18ish

Leave a Reply

