Birth of Austin McKean Woods

I went to bed around 1 am on April 2nd after crying for a good 30 minutes because I was sooooo mad that I was still pregnant.  At 3:02 am, I woke up to a uncomfortable feeling in my stomach and felt a pop, followed by a gush of warm fluid.  I knew right then, my water had broken.  I woke up Tyler and he thought I was kidding!  We both got up and started getting ready to go to the hospital.  Thankfully, I had everything packed and prepared.  I called my house and told my dad that my water broke.  He told me good luck and that they would be on their way in an hour or two.  We got to the hospital around 3:45 am and I was in the hospital bed by 4:15 am.  My contractions started shortly after.  I was told that there was meconium in the fluid and that they had to monitor Austin closely for any signs of distress.

I was at 3 cm for the LONGEST time and my contractions were getting worse and worse, with no progress being made, so I decided to get the epidural at 9 am because I was in so much pain and couldn’t handle it anymore.  After the epidural, I felt SOOO much better and quickly progressed to 10 cm about 3 hours later.  I started pushing at about 12:40pm and Austin McKean Woods was born at 12:49 pm.  He weighed 7 pounds 12 ounces and was 20 inches long.  He was perfectly healthy and absolutely beautiful.

I can’t even begin to describe how in love I am with my baby boy.  One of the best moments was seeing Tyler hold Austin for the very first time.

Soon after Tyler cut Austin’s cord, the doctors collected some blood from the cord to send to a lab. This is to check the DNA to see if Austin has Cystic Fibrosis or not and it is a lot faster than the newborn screening.  We should find out within the next 4 days.  I kind of do not want to find out because he is so beautiful and we decided he is much to cute to actually have Cystic Fibrosis.

Arriving at the hospital on April 2nd around 3:45 am

Arriving at the hospital on April 2nd around 3:45 am

Tyler and I (after the epidural!!!)

Tyler and I (after the epidural!!!)

Austin's little feet

Austin’s little feet

Austin McKean Woods

Austin McKean Woods

My mom, Austin, and I the day after his birth.

My mom, Austin, and I the day after his birth.

Leave a Reply

