Today is a GOOD day :)

Today has been a busy and eventful day for sure.  It didn’t start out too great though.  I woke up at 4 am with my tummy hurting really bad and ended up throwing up about 1/2 an hour later (I am almost positive it’s because I took tylenol before bed on an empty stomach).  I ended up not sleeping much more and before I knew it, it was time for me to get Austin up and ready to go to Stanford.

My mom drove us to the appointment at 11 am.  This is honestly the first appointment that I have not been concerned about his weight gain.  I didn’t even check it once in the last week!!!  He weighed in at 14 lb 9 oz, the 11th percentile.  GUESS WHAT? Austin is on the BMI charts!!!! He is in the 3rd percentile, which is huge because he hasn’t even been on the charts since the day he was born, 5 1/2 months ago (he was born with a BMI of 57%).  He definitely still has a long way to go to get to the 50th percentile, but he is heading in the right direction.

Obviously besides weight, the highlight of this visit for me was the fact that Austin was fitted for/tested out a vest!  We will be receiving the vest equipment within the week (it costs $16,000, but we pay nothing)!  I can’t wait!  The vest time will replace the time that we spend doing manual chest physical therapy and from what I have heard, it is life changing for both CFers and their parents.  It also make my and Tyler’s job MUCH easier and more efficient.

Another highlight at this appointment was how happy his nurses, doctor, and dietitian were with me and my documentation of all of the food he ate in the last couple days!  I wrote down everything, time of day, amount of enzymes per meal, amount of calories per food, amount of ounces he drank, and total calories for the day.  Apparently his dietitian is super Type A personality and is now in love with me and my work haha.  She even told me that I am an A+ mom for already incorporating butter into Austin’s daily diet.  I feel really accomplished. Austin’s respiratory therapist was also very impressed with my knowledge of CF medical news, treatments, and medical trials.  She said nearly all of her patients have no idea what revolutionary drugs, such as Kalydeco, even are!  Most of them are have CFers over 8 years old.  What can I say, I like to stay informed.  Maybe it’s partially my OCD tendencies or maybe its my PR/journalism background… or maybe a combination of both.

The only negative thing about his appointment was the fact that he is a bit congested.  We are going to try to nebulize Mucomyst with his albuterol to see if that helps.  His doctor took another throat swab to see if he is culturing anything since so many people get sick at this time of the year.  For his next appointment, Austin will be 6 1/2 months old and will have a vitamin levels test and possibly an allergy test.  This will be the first time in his life that he will NOT need a weight check in between Stanford visits!  What on earth am I going to do with my life without as many doctor appointments???

Anywhooooo, we got home around 3pm and I decided to update my phone to the iOS 7.  It’s pretty cool so far, but I haven’t looked  into it too much yet.  I also discovered that I sold my first item on ebay today and now my mom and I are making tacos!   It has definitely been a good day, which I hardly ever say after a Stanford Clinic appointment.

Well, gotta go help finish up those tacos!  Have a lovely day everyone!

IMG_1536

Austin and Grandma

Austin and Grandma

One thought on “Today is a GOOD day :)

  1. Lou-Anne says:

    Would you be interested in some information that could help Austin with his condition?
    Good clean water, clean air and sleep are critical for good health.

Leave a comment